Eggs Benedict

Russell loves Eggs Benedict, however I won’t lie…I’m scared of cooking eggs other than scrambled. I’m not sure why, but it is true. I decided to conquer my fear of eggs and try to cook my hubby’s favorite. I did conquer my fear, and the eggs cooked just fine, however I’ve tweaked a few things below that would have worked better that I will be doing next time!

**This recipe serves two (which is why we had Amy over for breakfast!) so you can tweak it from there to serve your family. We also used bacon instead of Canadian bacon because it is what I had on hand, and actually what Russell prefers.**

Eggs Benedict
2 egg yolks
1Tbsp. lemon juice
pinch of salt & pepper
pinch of cayenne
1 Tbsp. half and half (or milk if that is all you have)
1 stick butter melted
4 eggs
1 tsp. vinegar
4 strips of bacon
2 English muffins
Cook bacon, and set aside on paper towels to drain. Add to blender or food processor, yolks, lemon juice, salt and pepper, cayenne, and half and half. Bring 3 inches of water to a simmer in a large pot. Add vinegar. Once water is at simmer crack eggs into water and cook for 3 min. (give or take depending on how runny you like your eggs) While eggs are cooking toast English muffins, and melt butter. Stream melted butter into blender slowly until sauce is thick. Remove eggs with slotted spoon onto plate. Assemble- top English muffin with bacon, poached egg, and hollandaise. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

